Thursday, 24 October 2013

Oracle Review - All Hallow's Eve and Clergy of the Holy Nimbus

Oh yes, it's time!


All Hallow's Eve
Some of you might not realize how wonderful this is, but here is the oracle wording:
Exile All Hallow's Eve with two scream counters on it. 
At the beginning of your upkeep, if All Hallow's Eve is exiled with a scream counter on it, remove a scream counter from it. If there are no more scream counters on it, put it into your graveyard and each player returns all creature cards from his or her graveyard to the battlefield.
If you didn't play way back, if you didn't follow the Oracle over the years, you may not know that All Hallow's Eve was an Enchantment for a long time. Yeah, they errata'd it to an enchantment because you couldn't have a sorcery sit around with counters on it. Sure, you can flip a card onto the battlefield and deal damage based on what it lands on, but having a sorcery sit around with counters is right out, right?

Well, that made sense to me at the time, but we all know it's total nonsense now. It makes me so happy to see this has been corrected at some point in the last decade. I give this sorcery...


Clergy of the Holy Nimbus
That's a pretty big name for a such a low impact card.
If Clergy of the Holy Nimbus would be destroyed, regenerate it. 
1: Clergy of the Holy Nimbus can't be regenerated this turn. Only any opponent may activate this ability.
Alright, where did that come from? I'll tell you where it came from, it came from errata that made sense of the card in a time when they couldn't figure out how to word the original card. Of course the card is pretty easy to word right now:
When Clergy of the Holy Nimbus would be destroyed, instead any opponent may pay 1.  If no player does, regenerate Clergy of the Holy Nimbus.
Yeah, it's pretty close to the text of the original card.

The astute reader may notice a meaningful juxtaposition here. Two cards that were reworded - despite never being reprinted - to make them work within the rules at the time. Both are very easy to word to keep the original intent of the card. One did have it's wording restored to match the card, the other did not. It should not be any surprise, then, that I give the clergy...


No comments:

Post a Comment